Eleven file for city commission position

For Newton Now

Eleven candidates have submitted letters of interest to fill the unexpired term of City Commissioner David Nygaard, who died unexpectedly last month.

The candidates are Ronald Eggert, David Oller, Bill Hake, Rod Kreie, Clint McBroom, H. Michael Bonner, Ephraim Torres, Alex Marten, Mark Rolland, Veronica Mosqueda-Bargdill and David T. Jackson II. Their letters can be read atwww.newtonkansas.com/letters.

At Tuesday’s City Commission meeting, the four sitting Commissioners will select the new Commissioner by written ballot. By law, the procedure for filling this vacancy is at the discretion of the sitting Commission and, thus, is subject to modification at any time by a majority vote.

0 replies on “Eleven file for city commission position”