NHS best in Kansas for Career and Technical Education distinctions, again

Newton Now Staff

For the third year in a row, Newton High School ranked top in Kansas for students receiving the state’s highest recognition for Career and Technical Education Training.

Recently, the state awarded the CTE Scholars status to 12 Newton Students, almost one third of the 39 students state wide that received the distinction.

“We want to give our students the tools they need to begin a career, go to college or enter a trade school,” Newton High School CTE Program director Melinda Rangel stated in a district release. “We want to best prepare our students for wherever their path leads them.”

Newton High School offers one of the largest career technical education programs in the state, allowing students to chose 17 different career pathways, or training classes structured to teach skills usable in a specific field.

Fields vary from manufacturing to engineering to health science. The program allows students to receive free or discounted college credits, internships with in the community and skill certifications granting them easier entrances to trade schools, college programs or jobs following graduation.

The state created the CTE Scholar status to honor students that excel in such training. In the three years the designation has existed Newton High School has produced 33 CTE Scholars, or 23 percent of the 141 students given the distinction state wide.

To qualify the state requires students to have earned a grade point average of 3.5 on the minimum of three CTE class credits they earned. They are also required to provide documentation of skill attainment, leadership, have 25 or more hours of community service, a minimum of 80 hours of on-the-job or internship experience.

“I am very proud of the work our 12 students have done in these areas and the positive role models they are for the Newton High School CTE program,” Rangel stated.

The Newton students earning the designation this year were Jessica Floerke, Jonathan Fowler, Nicholas Koehn, Josh McClure, Faye Smith, Kaitlyn Black, Matthew Eldridge, Tristan Meyer, Reid Graber, Hannah Becker, Kori Roberson, and Alexandra Murray.

0 replies on “NHS best in Kansas for Career and Technical Education distinctions, again”